热式燃气表: 十年认证,品质保障

Konrad Domanski,Sensirion气体流量系统产品经理

热式技术是一项测量气体和液体流量的成熟技术。技术进步和设备微型化使得该技术能大批量应用于对成本敏感的领域,如天然气计量。最近新的两项研究也证实了热式技术在恶劣环境中具有长期可靠性。技术进步和设备微型化使得该技术能大批量应用于一些成本敏感的领域,如天然气计量。2021年最新两项研究也证实了热式技术在恶劣环境中的长期可靠性。研究选取了实地运行10年以上35台的热式燃气表进行测试,测试结果显示:所有燃气表在实地运行10年后示值误差均符合标准要求,且88%的燃气表仍符合初始最大允许误差要求。另,2021年欧洲最新发布了专用标准(EN 17526),由此可看出热式技术是一项经济、成熟、可靠的燃气计量解决方案,全球已有六百万燃气表受益于该技术。此外,该技术还具有强大的自诊断,自适应和泄漏检测功能,可广泛用于天然气,氢气混合气体(23%)和纯氢气的检测。

热式测量原理

八十年来,热式技术一直被用于关键领域的流量计量,比如维持生命的医疗呼吸机、汽车内燃机的进气调节、建筑通风系统和精密的工业过程控制。热式测量是最精确有效的流量测量方法。不过,此前对于成本敏感的大批量应用领域而言,它的价格过于昂贵。

随着微机电系统(MEMS)技术的进步,热式流量测量原理已在单个硅芯片上得以实现。芯片的高度集成CMOS工艺模组微型化和大批量生产成为可能。如此一来,便从根本上降低了热式技术的成本,使其不仅成为高端应用领域的理想解决方案,也为大批量应用的低成本高可靠设备带来福音,如燃气表。

热式燃气计量技术

2000年代初期,Sensirion率先将热式技术应用于燃气计量,其主要优点包括准确度高、结构紧凑、功耗低(对电池供电式燃气表至关重要)、以及成本低。之所以能降低成本,是因为实现了流量传感部件、信号处理及分析电路的高度集成,集成于单个半导体芯片。除流量之外,热式传感器还能随时测量气体的各种热属性,以补偿气体成分的变化。所以对于组成成分复杂的掺氢天然气甚至纯氢气,热式燃气表是流量计量的理想选择。

第一批热式燃气表于2007年完成现场安装。经历了最初的缓慢适应期后,近几年热式技术的增长速度明显加快。截至目前,全球已有超过600万台燃气表利用该技术测量气体流量。另外,全球约有3300万汽车及4500万医疗设备依赖Sensirion热式技术,尽管多年来热式技术已经在很多领域得到验证,但对于最注重性能、安全性和可靠性的燃气计量行业,这仍然是相对较新的技术。

国际标准和各个国家对燃气表的测量精度规定了不同要求、制定了不同等级,其中1.5级在全球范围内应用最广。OIML R137和EN 17526将经温度补偿的1.5级燃气表(如热式燃气表)在高区和低区的最大允许误差(MPE)分别定为2%和3.5%。OIML R137还额外规定对于实地运行后再次测量的燃气表,耐久MPE为初始MPE的2倍(3.5%/6.5%)。因此,普遍认为2倍MPE是燃气表使用期间(通常为10-15年)必须通过的标准。

热式燃气表可靠性实地研究

截至2021年,相当数量的热式燃气表已投入实地运行10年以上。最近有两项独立研究测试了不同类型热式燃气表在燃气中运行将近10年和超过10年后的性能。

第一项研究为荷兰认证机构NMi从2013至2016年期间在意大利安装的2749个G10、G16和G25型工业燃气表中随机抽取20个进行调查。这些燃气表由MeteRSit生产,也由其收集(共19个,另一个安装地点无法到达)并送到NMi进行复测,即在最大流量(Qmax)和最小流量(Qmin)之间测量空气和天然气。结果表明,无论使用年限和累计测量气体量如何,所有燃气表的精准度都在2倍MPE范围内。另外,19个燃气表的天然气测量精度全部在1倍MPE之内,15个燃气表的空气测量精度在1倍MPE之内。也就是说,大多数燃气表的性能可媲美全新产品。

第二项研究抽取了35个ABB公司生产的 “EGZ ”G4型民用热式燃气表。这些燃气表于2010至2011年在瑞士安装,从安装现场返回并重新测量前已运行9至10年。这项研究由MEMS AG开展,其测试设备具有瑞士联邦计量研究院(METAS)认证。同样,研究人员在最大流量(Qmax)和最小流量(Qmin)之间测量了空气和天然气。与NMi得出的研究结果相似,所有被测燃气表在空气和天然气中的精度都在2倍MPE以内。另外,35个燃气表中天然气测量精度全部在1倍MPE之内,31个燃气表的空气测量精度在1倍MPE之内。

这两项研究的共同点在于:第一,被测燃气表都基于Sensirion AG生产的关键计量单元——CMOSense®热式燃气表模组;第二,都证明了热式燃气表在实地运行多年后性能仍可媲美新产品。

即使未来这些燃气表再运行十年,误差增加一倍(无任何迹象表明),也仍然在OIML R137规定的耐久后的最大允许误差之内。因其不受极高气体测量体积(平均值的14倍)的影响,由此可以推测,Sensirion 热式流量燃气模组能够在实地可靠运行20年以上。

EN 17526 – 热式燃气计量新标准

2021年欧洲标准委员会(CEN)发布专用标准,表明热式技术在燃气计量领域的应用已发展成熟。《
EN 17526. Gas meters. Thermal-mass flow-meter based gas meter》一文对现场使用热式燃气表所需的要求和测试进行了概述。EN 17526是以EN 1359膜式燃气表和EN14236家用超声波式燃气表标准为蓝本,同时兼顾OIML R137的要求。所以习惯于现有标准的燃气表制造商及燃气公司可以快速适应热式燃气计量新标准。EN 17526目前也是第一个同时结合民用和工商业用燃气表(最大规格G25)静态测量原理的标准。此外,经修订后相关规范被首选为涵盖可再生气体(如氢气和生物甲烷)的规范,这是对热式技术的极大认可:为统一其他所有EN燃气表标准铺平道路,也从规范角度为欧洲能源转型倡议助力。

热式燃气表:十年认证,品质保障

近年来电子技术(如CMOSense®和MEMS)及燃气自适应技术进步使得热式燃气计量技术成本大幅降低,可靠性不断提高,成为燃气计量应用的理想解决方案。长期实地可靠性研究表明,热式燃气表的使用寿命明显长于一般燃气表的设计使用年限。2021年发布的热式燃气计量专用标准对该技术的成熟度进行了认证,并为这项久经验证的流量测量方法在燃气计量行业的广泛应用铺平道路。除了成本低、可靠度高、结构紧凑外,热式测量技术还具有强大的自诊断,自适应和安全性。另外,该技术还能随时用于测量组成成分复杂的天然气、不同浓度的天然气-氢气混合气体2以及纯氢气。在未来技术前沿——直接能量计量领域,热式技术与现有解决方案相比优势显著。

氢气和生物甲烷测量前景

燃气计量行业即将迎来重大发展——向天然气网络中注入氢气。普遍预计,将逐渐在天然气中混入30%氢气,并最终转向100%氢气。热式燃气表尤其适用于测量含氢混合气体和纯氢气。Sensirion的热式燃气表模块已具备测量混氢天然气和纯氢气的能力并达到 MID精度标准。其另一优势在于,无论氢气含量多少,燃气表都能保持外观结构紧凑。而膜式燃气表则需增大三倍体积才能测量纯氢(因为氢的热值比天然气低3倍)。对于现有的超声波式燃气表,若不增大体积以及使用更快、更贵的电子元件克服氢气中音速过快的问题,也无法有效测量纯氢。

助力能源转型的第二个即将到来的趋势是将生物燃气注入天然气网络。这种可再生气体通常含大量二氧化碳。Sensirion的燃气表模块现已能准确测量二氧化碳比例相对较高的天然气,其热式技术也广泛用于医疗领域,甚至可以测量纯二氧化碳流量。

未来技术保障

随着天然气网内注入点的增加,以及氢气和生物燃气含量的增加,天然气的热值,无论是在地理位置上还是在时间上,相对于目前的变化性更大。因此,安装在天然气网各关键点的气体色谱仪也必须随之增加,或者转向直接能源计量。后者是一个非常有吸引力的解决方案,或许能改变气体计量范式。热式燃气表不仅可以测量气体体积流量,还能测量不同热属性,从而进行气质补偿,并将传感器信号正确转化为流经燃气表的气体体积(标况)。目前,热式燃气表已经可以输出混合天然气中的氢气指数,甚至可以显示气体热值指示(非直接的热值)。因此,热式技术尤其适合用于未来计量表层面的能源含量监测。

Related sensors

Thermal-mass gas metering: Proven for years, certified for the future

Authors: Konrad Domanski, Product Manager Gas Flow Systems, Sensirion

Thermal-mass technology is a proven means for measuring the flow of gasses and liquids. Technological advances and miniaturization have enabled the use of the technology for high-volume, cost-sensitive applications such as natural gas metering. Two recent studies now also confirm the long-term reliability of this technology for applications in harsh environments. The studies investigated thermal-mass gas meters following operation in the field for up to over 10 years. They concluded that all meters were operating well within the accuracy limits prescribed during service and that the majority of meters still fulfilled the requirements for brand-new gas meters. Coupled with the release of a dedicated European standard in 2021 (EN 17526), thermal gas technology is therefore a cost-effective, proven and reliable solution for gas metering that is already powering millions of gas meters worldwide. Additionally, it offers extensive self- and network-diagnostic capabilities and is ready for a wide range of natural gas compositions including hydrogen blends and pure hydrogen.

Thermal-mass measurement principle

For the past 80 years, thermal-mass technology has been used for measuring flow in the most critical applications such as life-sustaining medical ventilation, air intake regulation in car combustion engines, building ventilation systems and control of sensitive industrial processes. The thermal-mass measurement principle is the most versatile and robust way to measure flow. Until recently, however, it was prohibitively expensive for high-volume, price-sensitive applications.

With the progress of MEMS (micro-electromechanical system) technology, the thermal-mass flow measurement principle has been realized on a single silicon chip. Highly integrated CMOS processing of such chips allows for effective miniaturization and high-volume production. With these advances, the cost of thermal-mass technology has been radically reduced to the point where it is an attractive solution not only for high-end applications but also for low-cost, high-volume devices such as disposable flow sensors and gas meters.

Thermal-mass technology for gas metering

The application of thermal-mass technology in gas metering was pioneered by Sensirion in the early 2000s. The main benefits of this implementation are excellent accuracy, compact size, ultra-low power consumption (critical for battery-powered gas meters) and, above all, a very attractive cost. The latter is made possible by the integration of the flow sensor, signal processing and analysis electronics, and calibration data storage in a single semiconductor chip. Apart from the flow, thermal-mass sensors can also readily measure various thermal properties of the gas to compensate for variations in gas composition. This makes thermal-mass gas meters an ideal choice for measuring consumption of natural gases with a very wide composition range as well as for gas blends with hydrogen or even pure hydrogen.

The first thermal-mass gas meters were installed in the field in 2007. Following an initially slow adoption of the technology, the rollout has significantly accelerated in recent years and to date over 6 million gas meters worldwide rely on this proven way to measure gas flow. Additionally, 33 million cars and 45 million medical devices rely on Sensirion’s thermal-mass flow sensors. The main factor that initially limited the adoption of the technology for gas metering was the perceived lack of a track record in the field. Even though thermal-mass technology had been proven over the years in many other applications, it was a relative newcomer to the gas metering industry – an industry that values robust performance, safety and reliability above all else.

Various national and international standards regulate the required accuracy of gas meters. Different accuracy classes exist, with class 1.5 being the most widely used worldwide. OIML R137 and EN 17526 (the dedicated thermal-mass gas metering standard being published in 2021) define the maximum permissible error (MPE) for temperature-compensated class 1.5 gas meters (such as thermal-mass meters) as 2% and 3.5% at high and low flow regimes, respectively. OIML R137 additionally prescribes 2x MPE (3.5% / 6.5%) for meters that have been re-measured following in-field service. Hence, the 2x MPE is widely accepted as the bar that a meter has to clear while in service (typically 10–15 years).

Field studies of reliability of thermal-mass gas meters

By 2021, a significant number of thermal-mass gas meters had already been operating in the field for over a decade. Two independent studies recently looked at how different types of thermal-mass meters perform after having been operated in gas for up to over 10 years.

The first study, conducted by NMi – a Dutch notified body – looked at industrial G10, G16 and G25 meters manufactured by MeteRSit and installed in Italy between 2013 and 2016. The institute randomly selected 20 meters from a list of the 2,749 available. These were later collected by the manufacturer (19 meters – one was installed in an inaccessible location) and sent to NMi for read-back measurement. The said measurement involved measuring each meter both in air and natural gas between Qmin and Qmax flow rates. It was found that all meters, regardless of the number of years in service and accumulated measured gas volume, were still well within the 2x MPE allowed. Additionally, all meters performed within 1x MPE in gas, and 15 of the 19 meters also in air. That is to say, most of the meters performed as well as brand-new devices.

The second study involved 35 “EGZ” G4 residential meters that were built by ABB and installed in Switzerland between 2010 and 2011. These meters were operated for 9 to 10 years before being removed from the field and remeasured. The study was performed by MEMS AG, whose measurement infrastructure was certified by the Swiss Federal Institute of Metrology, METAS, in preparation for the investigation. Again, the authors measured all meters between Qmin and Qmax flow rates both in air and natural gas. Similar to the study conducted by NMi, all meters measured performed well within 2x MPE in both air and gas. Additionally, all 35 meters were still within 1x MPE when tested in gas, and 31 of the 35 also in air.

What the two studies had in common is that the tested gas meters were based on the key metrological units manufactured by Sensirion AG: CMOSense® gas metering modules. They also both confirmed that thermal-mass gas meters are still as good as new after over 10 years of operation in the field.

Even if the errors were to double over the next 10 years of operation (of which there is no indication), the meters would still be within the 2x MPE allowed by OIML R137. Hence, one can conclude that thermal-mass meters demonstrate the ability to operate reliably in the field for over 20 years. This is significantly longer than the lifetime of a typical gas meter. The metrological unit appears even more stable than that, given that it is unaffected by the very high volume of gas measured (14x the average). It can thus be concluded that it would easily outlive the other parts of the meters.

EN 17526 – new thermal-mass gas metering standard

The maturity of thermal-mass technology for gas metering applications has been recognized by CEN with the publication of a dedicated European standard in 2021. “EN 17526. Gas meters. Thermal-mass flow-meter based gas meter” outlines the requirements and tests needed to bring thermal-mass gas meters into the field. It is a harmonized standard, meaning that it builds on the normative documents previously developed for diaphragm and ultrasonic gas meters. It is also compatible with international norms such as OIML R137. Meter manufacturers used to the existing standards should not find any surprises in the new thermal-mass norm. From now on, the dedicated thermal-mass gas metering standard will remove a significant uncertainty previously associated with certifying such meters because the requirements and test plans are clearly laid out in the dedicated standard. EN 17526 is also the first static measurement principle standard to combine both residential and C&I (up to G25) meter sizes in one document. Furthermore, that the related norm has been selected as the first one to also cover, upon revision, renewable gases such as hydrogen and biomethane is an important step for thermal-mass technology: it paves the way to harmonizing all other EN gas meter standards and thus supports energy transition initiatives in Europe, including from a normative perspective.

Ready for hydrogen and biomethane

The most important upcoming development in the gas metering industry is the onset of injecting hydrogen into the grid. It is widely expected that this will be a gradual process, with initially up to 30% hydrogen being blended with natural gas before a switch to 100% hydrogen occurs. Thermal-mass gas meters are exceptionally well-suited to measuring both gas blends with hydrogen and pure hydrogen alike. Sensirion’s thermal-mass gas meter modules are already capable of both, achieving MID accuracy. A further advantage is that the meters can retain their compact form factor regardless of the hydrogen content. This is not the case for diaphragm meters, which have to triple in size in order to measure pure hydrogen (due to the three-times lower calorific value of hydrogen compared to natural gas). Furthermore, existing ultrasonic solutions also cannot effectively measure pure hydrogen without increasing in size and employing faster, more costly electronics to compensate for hydrogen’s extremely high speed of sound.

The second upcoming development to support the energy transition is the injection of biomethane into the grid. This renewable gas often comes with a significant CO₂ content. Fortunately, Sensirion’s gas metering modules already accurately measure natural gas containing a relatively high fraction CO₂, while the company’s thermal-mass technology, which can even measure pure CO₂ flow, is currently widely used in medical applications.

Future-proof technology

With the upcoming multiplication of injection points into the grid and an increased hydrogen and biomethane content, the calorific value of the gas will vary significantly more than it currently does – both geographically and temporally. This will have to be matched with either a multiplication of gas chromatographers installed at various critical points in the grid or a switch to direct energy metering. The latter is an especially appealing solution, which would represent a paradigm shift for gas metering. Thermal-mass gas meters measure not only the volumetric flow of gas, but also its various thermal properties. The latter are used to identify the gas in the pipe and to correctly translate the sensor signal to the volume of gas flowing through the meter. Thermal-mass gas meters can already output a hydrogen index of natural gas blends or even provide an indication of the calorific value of the gas. Hence, thermal-mass technology is especially well-suited for future energy content monitoring at meter Level.

Proven for years, certified for the future

Recent developments have brought the cost of thermal-mass technology to the point where it has emerged as a very attractive solution for gas metering applications. Long-term field reliability studies indicate that the lifetime of thermal-mass gas meter modules is significantly longer than the design life of a typical gas meter. The publication of a dedicated thermal-mass gas metering standard in 2021 recognizes the maturity of the technology and paves the way to more widespread adoption of this well-proven method for flow measurement in the gas metering industry. In addition to attractive cost, reliability and very compact size, thermal-mass technology also offers extensive self- and network-diagnostic capabilities (e.g. air recognition for tampering detection). Finally, the technology can readily cope with measuring natural gas with a very wide composition range, as well as pure hydrogen and natural gas-hydrogen blends of any concentration. Direct energy metering is the next frontier, and it is clear that thermal-mass technology has a significant advantage over current solutions in this area.

Related sensors