联网式给药设备之智能吸入器流量测量

作者:Andreas Alt,医疗应用销售总监

吸入器是哮喘、慢性阻塞性肺病(COPD)等呼吸道疾病最常见的治疗设备。每一次吸气时,吸入器将特定剂量药物送入患者肺部。然而,吸入器误用现象却十分普遍。

资料显示,患者常常因为不会正确使用吸入器(包括定量吸入器MDI和干粉吸入器DPI)而无法吸入足量药物,使疾病得不到控制、缓解药物用量增加、采用预防性治疗或送入急诊,从而导致疾病控制不力和医疗费用增加。

不论从医疗费用还是社会视角看,每年全球在哮喘和COPD控制方面投入的成本非常高昂。研究结果显示,比起病情得到控制的患者,未得到控制的患者需支付两倍多的医疗费用。研究还发现,患者在药物吸入过程中至少有70%至90%的时间会犯至少一次错,导致仅有7%至40%的药物顺利进入肺部。使用定量吸入器(MDI)有两个最大、最严重的问题,且都与患者吸气有关。第一是患者吸气和吸入器剂量释放触发不协调。即使短时间延迟也可能导致仅20%的药物能进入肺部。第二个更严重的错误是呼吸不够深,导致进入肺部的药物再减少10%[4]。

目前已经有不少技术创新机会,能通过测量患者使用吸入器设备时的吸气气流减少上述常见错误,从而提高给药效力、改善用药依从性、降低医疗成本以及最终优化患者治疗结果。

为何要测量吸气流量曲线?

如前所述,使用吸入器最大、最严重的两个问题都与患者吸气有关。通过测量吸入器吸气流量,外加记录MDI的药物释放时间点,即可确定药物是否在吸气周期的最佳窗口内释放(见图1)。

这种剂量-触发时间与流量的相关性是了解携带药物气流是否到达支气管底部并实现预期良好肺沉积的关键参数之一(见图2)。

关键参数之二是吸气曲线。运用肺量测定法可从吸气曲线中得出几个有助于深入了解患者吸气情况的参数:

  • 吸气深度和长度
  • 吸气前完全呼气
  •  按照说明缓慢吸气
  •  肺功能及其随时间变化情况

上述信息都可以通过准确经校准的吸气曲线实时记录得出,从而判断患者的吸气方式是否正确以及吸气过程中的肺沉积量是否足够。其它重要参数包括吸气肺活量(IVC)和峰值吸气量(PIF),以及完整的吸气特征曲线。(见图3)

一秒用力吸气量(FIV1)和气道阻力(RAW)等次级参数也可通过吸气流量曲线获得。RAW的计算方式见图4。

某些参数(如RAW)可能与疾病状况直接相关,因而对COPD患者具有特殊意义。目前,吸入器被当作类似肺活量计设备使用,所有参数都可以通过吸入器得出,无需付出额外精力或对患者造成时间上的负担。除监测吸入器吸气质量高低以及使用方式是否正确外,随着时间推移,上述监测参数还可以提供关于药物治疗效果和疾病发展情况的反馈,从而提醒医护人员、激励患者或提高依从性。

为此,美国数字医疗公司Cohero Health为患者提供了另一款肺活量计,帮助患者在治疗过程中对自身肺功能进行常规测量。让患者直接进行疾病管理并把相关数据分享给医疗专业人员不仅可以帮助患者和临床医生评估治疗进程,还能实现按疗效付费而非按药剂付费。胰岛素和睡眠呼吸暂停综合征行业也同样如此。近年来,联网式设备公司所占的行业市场份额不断增加,使得治疗成本下降和患者疗效改善。最重要的是,这种将诊断和给药结合在一起的单个设备能有效改善患者治疗结果。图6显示了PIF、IVC和RAW随时间的变化,直观展示出治疗开始时的明显效果、常规剂量期间的稳定治疗、以及治疗中断带来的消极影响。

在给药吸入器设备中加入流量测量功能不仅能监测患者依从性和吸入器使用方法,还可以利用类似肺活量计的肺功能记录观察药物有效性和病程进展。下一代吸入器将从设计源头结合气流测量,有助于根据患者及其情况不同提供特定服务,在最佳时间点自动释放药剂。

如何测量吸气流量曲线

在吸入器从设计源头融入电子元件和互联功能前,现有的吸入器和吸入器平台可以采用相关电子元件升级产品,实现互联互通和所需的传感器功能。许多公司(如Propeller Health和Adherium)已经将此变为现实。它们设计出各种夹式外接装置,通过监测使用日期和时长等参数,以及评估来自加速计、GPS等外部传感器的信号让现有吸入器实现互联互通。过去,由于缺乏能够测量微弱流量、兼具强大鲁棒性和灵敏度的设备,很难准确测量吸入器流量。为避免美国食品药监局(FDA)对已经通过批准的吸入器进行重新审批,所有吸入器夹都需满足一项关键监管要求:不改变吸入器流道,以确保现有吸入器设备功能不被干扰。

为展示如何在不干扰流道的情况下精准测量吸入器流量,Sensirion设计出一款实用吸入器夹。图7为配备Sensirion SDP3x流量传感器、BLE通信芯片和电池电源的3D打印版吸入器夹。值得注意的是,吸入器外壳并未发生任何改变,完全依靠在吸入器进气口利用文丘里/伯努利原理进行流量测量。经校准的吸入器气流与外部参考气流具有一致性,本文所述流量曲线数据即源于该气流。

之所以能做到不改变、不阻碍吸入器流道,是因为SDP3x流量传感器系列采用微机电系统(MEMS)流量芯片,具有极高的灵敏度。该技术以微热流通原理为基础,搭配数十年来成功应用于医用呼吸机的新一代热丝流量传感器技术。无论用于吸入器夹还是新型吸入器,Sensirion CMOSens®流量芯片技术的关键优势主要有:

•    灵敏度高至0.01帕
•    时间和压力/流量精度高
•    医疗和汽车行业验证
•    坚固耐用,抗跌落,支持超声波焊接
•    双端口设计,抗外界干扰强
•    低功耗,适合便携式和电池供电设备
•    全球最小的商用流量传感器

因此,Sensirion SDP3x流量传感器系列是精确测量吸入设备中吸气流量曲线的首选解决方案。

前景展望

在患者已经熟悉的给药设备上添加诊断装置是治疗哮喘和COPD疾病控制的有效方法。吸入方式不当会导致肺部药物沉积减少,降低疗效,反而加重疾病、使治疗结果恶化、并且增加医疗费用。事实证明,通过目前的联网式给药装置为患者提供指导和直接反馈、支持患者自主管理疾病以及提高依从性能够改善治疗结果。

因此,准确可靠的流量测量对改善疾病控制和治疗结果非常重要,并且目前已经可以实现。一般来说,通过合理的疾病管理可以让患者免受症状困扰,但许多哮喘和COPD患者不会正确使用吸入器,这也将继续推动联网式给药创新。如今,越来越多的公司在产品中加入数字技术,为患者提供更有效的哮喘和COPD控制方法,提高药物疗效。最佳疾病治疗方法不仅在于简单的医疗工具,而是要为患者设计贴身装置,以提醒、指导和提供有关治疗和病程的见解。此为行业前进方向。

Related sensors

Flow measurement in smart inhalers for connected drug delivery

Author: Andreas Alt, Sales Director Medical

Inhalers are among the most commonly used devices for treating respiratory diseases such as asthma and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD). With each inhalation through the inhaler, the device delivers a specific amount of medication to the lungs. However, when it comes to proper inhaler use, misuse is the norm.

It is well documented that patients often have problems adopting the correct inhaler technique and thus receive insufficient medication. This applies equally to both metered dose inhalers (MDIs) and dry powder inhalers (DPIs) and leads to poor disease control and increased healthcare costs, either as a result of uncontrolled disease, increased drug utilization for relief medication, preventative therapy or emergency department visits. This remains a common problem in both asthma and COPD.

Global annual costs associated with asthma and COPD management is substantial from both the healthcare payer and the societal perspective. Research findings show that healthcare spending for an uncontrolled patient is more than double that of a controlled patient. Studies have also found that patients make at least one mistake during inhaler drug intake as often as 70% to 90% of the time, resulting in only 7% to 40% of the drug being delivered to the lungs. The two biggest and most serious errors when using an MDI are both related to patient inhalation. The first error is related to the coordination between inhalation and triggering the dose release of the inhaler. Even a short delay can result in only 20% of the medication being delivered to the lungs. The second most significant error is not breathing deeply enough, which can cause another 10% less medication to reach the lungs.

The opportunity for technological innovation to reduce these common errors by measuring patient inhalation airflow through the inhaler device is already available today and allows for increased drug delivery efficacy, improved medication adherence, reduced healthcare costs and, ultimately, improved patient outcomes.

Why measure the inhalation flow profile?

As discussed above, the two biggest and most serious errors in using inhalers are related to patient inhalation. By measuring the inhaled airflow through the inhaler, and additionally registering the point in time when the drug is dispensed for MDIs, allows information on whether the drug was released within the optimal window of the inhalation cycle to be accurately determined (see Figure 1).

This dose-trigger timing versus flow correlation is one critical parameter to understanding if the drug carrying flow reached deep into the bronchia and achieved the desired high lung deposition (see Figure 2).

The second critical parameter is the inhaled airflow profile. Borrowing from spirometry, several parameters can be derived from the inhalation airflow profile that provide insights into each patient's inhalation:

  • Depth and length of inhalation
  • Entire exhalation before inhaling
  • Slow inhalation according to instructions
  • Lung function and its development over time

Accurate and calibrated real-time recordings of the inhalation flow profile provide the information above, from which it can be determined whether the patient carried out the inhalation correctly and achieved a high lung deposition during inhalation. Other parameters of interest include the inspired vital capacity (IVC) and peak inspired flow rate (PIF), along with the full inhalation airflow characteristic as shown in Figure 3.

Subsets of parameters such as forced inspired volume during the first second of inhalation (FIV1) or the airway resistance (RAW) can also be determined from the inhalation airflow profile. The derivation of the latter is shown in Figure 4.

Some parameters such as airway resistance (RAW) can be of special interest for patients with chronic obstructive pulmonary diseases (COPD) as it may relate directly to the condition of the disease. As the inhaler is now being utilized as a spirometer-like device, all parameters are derived upon use of the inhaler without any additional effort or time-related burden to the patient. Besides monitoring every inhalation through the inhaler for its quality and the correct use of the inhaler, the above parameters monitored over time can additionally provide feedback on the effectiveness of the medication, the course of the disease and alert the healthcare professional or be motivational for the patient and increase adherence.

Cohero Health already provides patients with an additional spirometer for exactly this reason, i.e. to allow the patients to routinely measure their lung function over the course of the treatment. The benefit of providing direct disease management and sharing this data with medical professionals helps patients and clinicians to assess treatment progress and also enables payment-by-results rather than pay-per-dose. This same development can be observed in the insulin or sleep apnea industry where it has led to growing market shares for companies offering connected devices in recent years and simultaneously brought down treatment costs and improved patient outcomes. Most importantly, this combination of drug delivery and diagnostic unit in a single device is a powerful tool in improving patient outcomes. Figure 6 shows the schematic behavior of PIF, IVC and RAW versus time. It visualizes the positive effect of starting the treatment, the stable treatment phase during regular dosage and the negative effect of interrupting the treatment.

By adding the capability of measuring flow to the drug delivery inhaler device, not only can patient compliance and correct use of the inhaler be monitored, but also the effectiveness of the medication and course of the disease over time can be observed by utilizing the spirometer-like lung function recordings. Next generation inhalers - natively incorporating airflow measurements in their design - will facilitate automatic dose release at the optimal point in time, individually tailored to the patient and their specific condition.

How to measure the inhalation flow profile

Before inhalers natively include electronics and connectivity features by design, existing inhalers and inhaler platforms can be enhanced with the required electronics to achieve connectivity and the required sensing functionality. This is already being done today by companies such as Propeller Health, Adherium and others that have designed a variety of clip-ons for existing inhalers to add connectivity by monitoring parameters such as date and time of usage as well as evaluating signals from additional sensors such as accelerometers, GPS and many more. In the past, accurate measurement of the flow through the inhaler was challenging due to the lack of sufficiently robust and yet sensitive devices capable of measuring the smallest flows. In order to avoid revalidation of the inhaler with the FDA and maintain approval, the key regulatory requirement for all inhaler clip-ons demands that the flow path of the inhaler remains unaltered in order to ensure that it does not interfere with the existing inhaler device function.

In order to demonstrate how accurate flow measurement through an inhaler can be realized without interfering with the flow path, a functional inhaler clip-on has been developed by Sensirion. Figure 7 shows the 3D-printed inhaler clip-on containing the Sensirion flow sensor SDP3x as well as a Bluetooth low energy communications chip and a battery power source. It is notable that the inhaler housing has not been altered in any way and the flow measurement principle relies solely on the Venturi/Bernoulli principle at the inhaler inlet. The calibrated inhaler airflow shows excellent agreement to an external flow reference and was used for obtaining the flow profiles depicted in this article.

The unaltered and unobstructed inhaler flow path design is enabled by the extreme sensitivity of the Sensirion MEMS-based (micro electro mechanical system) flow chip solution utilized in the SDP3x flow sensor series. This technology is based on the microthermal flow-through principle, the next generation hotwire flow sensor technology that has been successfully used in medical ventilators for decades. In clip-ons for existing inhalers as well as newly developed inhalers, the key advantages of Sensirion's CMOSens® flow chip technology can be summarized as: 

  • Highest sensitivity down to hundredths of a Pascal
  • High temporal and pressure/flow accuracy
  • Proven device in the medical and automotive industry
  • Robust against being dropped and ultra-sonic welding process steps
  • Inherently robust against external disturbances by the two-port design
  • Low power consumption for portable and battery operation
  • World's smallest commercially available flow sensor

This makes the Sensirion SDP3x flow sensor series the flow sensor solution of choice for accurately measuring the inhalation flow profile in inhalation devices.

Outlook

Adding a diagnostic unit to the drug delivery device that the patient is already familiar with is a powerful tool in asthma and COPD disease management. Improper inhalation technique leads to decreased efficacy through reduced deposition of drug in the lungs, which in turn leads to increasing disease severity and thus a worse patient outcome and an increase in healthcare costs. The solution of guiding the patient and providing direct feedback as well as supporting the patient in controlling the disease and increasing adherence have already been shown to improve patient outcomes by current connected drug delivery devices.

Thus, robust and accurate flow measurement is an important feature towards better disease management and patient outcomes and is already realizable today. The high percentage of patients suffering from asthma or COPD and misusing their inhaler when a life free of complaints would generally be possible with proper disease management will continue to drive innovation for connected drug delivery. An increasing number of companies are implementing digital technologies in their products already today to provide an enhanced method of managing asthma and COPD as well as improving the effectiveness of medication. Supporting the patient with the optimal treatment of their disease, not solely as a simple medical tool but as a companion device to remind, coach and provide relevant insight into the treatment and the course of the disease, is the direction in which the industry is advancing.

Related sensors