热式测量原理:未来氢气燃气表的理想选择

作者: Michele Monitaro,工业市场大客户经理, Konrad Domanski,燃气计量解决方案产品经理

《欧洲绿色协议》是欧盟2050年前实现碳中和的战略计划。要实现这一目标,能源产业无碳化至关重要,因为能源产业是欧洲CO₂排放量的主要来源。在这方面显示出前景的策略之一是逐渐用可再生气体取代天然气,比如可持续生产的氢气或生物质气。特别是氢气的使用也许是一种可取的对策/行动方案,目前相关准备工作正在进行中,争取早日按计划过渡整个天然气基础设施(例如自2025年起,所有在英国出售的新燃气锅炉必须与纯氢气兼容)。燃气表是燃气基础设施的重要组成部分,为保证用户燃气消费计费准确公道,燃气表必不可缺。

在本文中,我们将利用热式测量原理对混合大量氢气的天然气和纯氢气进行燃气表计量。本文将以测量数据为基础,探讨测量精度和操作安全性,并阐释热式燃气表为何可以不受氢气浓度影响保持尺寸紧凑。这也正是未来氢气燃气表解决方案优先于其它计量技术的关键优势。

什么是热式测量原理

基于微机电系统(MEMS)的量热传感器元件(见图1a)是所有热式流量传感器的核心元件,比如燃气表中使用的传感器。传感器元件位于硅芯片表面的膜片,由一个微型加热元件和上下游温度传感器组成。电流通过微型加热元件时,膜片上产生温度变化曲线。无气流通过时,上下游温度传感器的温度相同(见图1b)。气流流过膜片表面时产生热流,膜片温度曲线开始波动,导致上下游温度传感器的温度发生变化(见图1c)。由此产生的传感器温差即成为可精准测量的传感器信号——温差越大,流过传感器元件的气体流速越大(流速函数)。

热式流量测量法以热对流物理效应为原理,传感器信号取决于两个因素:一是流过膜片的气体流速,二是被测混合天然气的热属性。

因此,如果热式流量传感器预先针对特定气体混合物进行校准,或通过预先设定程序,在流量测量过程中动态适应不同混合气体,就能实现气体精准测量。

燃气表可以用于测量将来可能出现的各种混合天然气,并且混合成分可能随时间而不断变化。在实际应用中难以做到预先针对所有可能出现的天然气混合物单独校准,因此Sensirion热式燃气表传感器采用专有的天然气和氢气动态识别程序,即使天然气混合成分发生改变,依然能准确测量气体流量。

测试设置

本文所展示的测试数据是通过热式流量传感器的动态气体识别程序记录的。根据EN 437:2018标准,该程序针对H、L和E 型天然气(含氢比例不超过23%)、纯氢和接近纯氢的气体进行了优化。流量传感器的输出信号经温度和压力补偿,单位为标准立方米/小时(m3/h)。

流量传感器测试使用的是普通燃气表样品外壳,流量传感器位于出口端(见图2a)。测试混合气体(见表1)由外部气体供应装置提供。测试采用音速喷嘴作为流量基准,在室温下进行。;流量测试装置示意图见图2b。

混氢天然气流量测量

图3为五个流量传感器在参考气体(空气、甲烷和分别含5%、10%和23%氢气的天然气混合气体)流量高达6m3/h(G4型燃气表)时的相对测量误差。黑线数值分别为± 3.5%和± 2.0%,代表欧洲计量器具指令(MID)2016/32/EC和国际法制计量组织(OIML) R 137提出的关于1.5精度等级的经温度补偿燃气表的最大允许误差限值。

五个被测流量传感器的误差曲线都在最大允许误差范围内,也符合欧洲热式燃气表标准EN 17526和超声家用燃气表标准EN 14236规定的3%和1.5%的空气-燃气比例。

本测试中含氢23%的天然气为EN 437规定的G222型测试天然气。根据EN 437,G222是用于测试二类混合天然气燃气设备的“极限测试气体”,即最大允许混氢比例气体。

氢气流量测量

氢气的热值较低(比天然气低三倍),因此必须大大提升氢气流量才能保证通过燃气表的能量相同。图4为五个流量传感器在参考气体(100%氢气和98%氢气+2%二氧化碳)流量高达20m3/h时的相对测量误差。2%是ISO 14687规定的A类氢气所含杂质的最大允许比例。同样,MID1.5级燃气表(最大流量Qmax为20m3/h)的误差极限为±3.5%和±2.0%(黑线所示)。

可以看到,在测量纯氢和CO2比例为2%的混氢时,燃气表的性能都很出色。另外值得一提的是,无论是流速为6m3/h的天然气还是20m3/h的氢气,传感器(以及相应燃气表)尺寸可始终保持不变。

操作安全性

热式流量传感器测量天然气或氢气时无任何安全相关限制。即使流量传感器电压调节出现故障,微传感器元件上的最高温度和最大存储热能均远低于氢气/空气混合物的燃点和引燃能。这也是为什么多年来Sensirion的热式流量测量技术能成功经受住纯氢气体分析应用的挑战。

紧凑尺寸,适用于各种混氢比例

用氢气替代天然气必须注意一个前提:按体积算氢气的热值比典型混合天然气低三倍左右。这意味着在实际应用中,如果燃气设备使用的是纯氢而非天然气,则必须提供约三倍气体量才能达到相同的加热效果。原先的天然气燃气表必须适应由于加入氢气而增加的气体体积,因此需选择尺寸更大的纯体积式天然气表,且具有较大的动态测量范围(因为必须与天然气和纯氢气兼容)。燃气表尺寸变大可能导致成本增加,且需要更多安装空间。使用无氢天然气时,如果气体体积超过燃气表初始设计值,可能会加重燃气表机械装置磨损,缩短使用寿命。

同样,由于氢气比天然气声速高(大约三倍),超声燃气表也面临挑战。这意味着,必须把声脉传播通道物理拉长,电子元件的测量速度也必须大大提升。为此,需要更大、更复杂、成本更高的燃气表。

相比之下,静态热式流量测量技术无需移动任何部件即可直接测量质量流量。因此,流量体积增加并不会导致额外磨损,也不会影响热式燃气表使用寿命。与体积式燃气表和超声燃气表不同,热式燃气表无论用于测量天然气还是不同比例的混氢天然气都能保持尺寸不变。热式测量原理考虑的关键参数不是流经燃气表的气体体积,而是相关混合气体的雷诺数。雷诺数是流体动力学中表示流场中流体为湍流(雷诺数大)还是层流(雷诺数小)的参数。比较纯甲烷ReCH4(代表天然气混合物)和纯氢气ReH2的雷诺数发现,对于相同的燃气表外壳形状,ReH2的雷诺数比ReCH4低6倍以上。即使假设氢气流量增加3倍(以补偿比天然气低3倍的氢气热值),ReH2的雷诺数仍比ReCH4低2倍左右。与甲烷相比,氢气的雷诺数较低,这意味着燃气表外壳形状相同时,即使氢气体积流量增加3倍,测量情况依旧保持稳定。

同样,燃气表压降水平也不会随氢气流量增加而变大。燃气表压降与气体密度×流速2成正比。氢气密度比甲烷低14倍,所以当氢气流速比甲烷快3倍时,压降其实更低。

因此,同样尺寸的燃气表可以放心用于测量天然气、混氢天然气、甚至100%纯氢。典型的G4热式燃气表测量天然气时最大流量可达6m3/h,测量氢气时最大流量可超过20m3/h。此外,切换不同测量气体时无需进行重新校准或更改设置,同一个传感器可流畅适应待测气体变化。

结论与展望

本文所展示的测量数据表明,热式测量原理符合MID规定的各种天然气/氢气混合物测量精度和空气-燃气比例误差限制。即使测量100%纯氢也没有任何操作安全方面的限制。本身尺寸已经十分紧凑的热式燃气表可以不受混氢比例影响始终保持大小不变,这是相对于机械式和超声燃气表的关键优势。使用热式燃气表可避免昂贵、大型的燃气表设计,运输和安装也更简单经济。

近年来,燃气表的技术进步主要体现在能够作为智能计量表进行通信。混氢天然气可推动燃气表行业实现进一步现代化,从传统机械式、体积式测量原理变为具有明显氢气测量优势的现代技术。热式燃气表使燃气计费变得准确公平,已惠及全球超过600万客户。未来,氢气混合气体还将促进这种紧凑的静态计量技术更快普及。

Sensirion-环境和流量传感器专家

Sensirion AG是微型数字传感器和系统的领先制造商,总部位于瑞士Stäfa。公司产品包括气体和液体流量传感器、差压传感器以及用于测量温湿度、挥发性有机化合物(VOC)、二氧化碳(CO₂)和微粒物质(PM2.5)的环境传感器。Sensirion在欧洲、美国、中国、台湾、日本和韩国均设有办事处,为全球客户提供标准和定制化的传感器系统解决方案,可广泛应用于不同领域。Sensirion 传感器应用市场包括医疗、工业和汽车领域以及分析仪器、生活消费品和暖通空调(HVAC)设备。

Sensirion的产品特色之一在于使用CMOSens®技术将传感器元件、逻辑算法、校准数据和数字接口智能集成至单个芯片上。凭借出色的客户资质和忠实的客户基础,以及质量信誉保障 ISO/TS 16949),Sensirion成为当之无愧的可靠供应商。

Related sensors

Thermal-mass measurement principle: The best choice for hydrogen-ready gas meters

Authors: Michele Monitaro, Key Account Manager Industrial Market and Konrad Domanski, Product Manager Gas Metering Solutions

The European Green Deal is the strategic plan to make the European Union carbon neutral by 2050. Decarbonizing the energy sector will be vital to achieving this goal, as this sector contributes significantly to Europe’s CO₂ emissions.A promising strategy in this respect is gradually replacing natural gas with renewable gases, such as sustainably produced hydrogen or biogas. The use of hydrogen in particular is likely to be a favorable course of action, and preparations are already underway to switch the entire gas infrastructure in line with this planned transition (e.g. starting in 2025, all new gas boilers sold in the UK have to be compatible with pure hydrogen). Gas meters are an essential part of gas infrastructure, and are indispensable in reliably and fairly billing gas consumption.

In this article, we will examine the metrological behavior of thermal-mass gas meters operating with natural gas mixtures containing significant amounts of hydrogen and pure hydrogen. We will present measurement data, discuss measurement accuracy and operational safety, and explain why it will still be possible to maintain thermal-mass gas meters’ compact size regardless of the hydrogen content, which is the key advantage that hydrogen-ready solutions have over the other metering technologies.

An Introduction to the Thermal-Mass Measurement Principle

A calorimetric sensor element based on MEMS (micro-electromechanical system), as shown in Figure 1a), is the core element of any thermal-mass flow sensor, such as those used in gas meters. The sensor element can be found on a membrane on a silicon chip and consists of a micro-heating element and temperature sensors that are integrated upstream and downstream. When an electric current flows through the micro-heating element, it generates a temperature profile on the membrane. If no gas is flowing, the temperature is identical at both the upstream and the downstream temperature sensors (see Figure 1b)). If gas flows across the membrane, it generates a heat flow – in other words, it causes the temperature profile on the membrane to change – resulting in a temperature change between the upstream and downstream temperature sensors (see Figure 1c)). The resulting difference in temperature between the two sensors creates a precisely measurable sensor signal that is a function of the flow velocity: the greater the difference in temperature, the greater the gas’ flow velocity over the sensor element.

The thermal-mass flow measurement principle is based on the physical effect of heat convection, so the sensor signal depends on both the gas’ flow velocity across the membrane and the measured gas mixture’s thermal properties.

So a thermal flow sensor provides accurate measurement data if it has either been precalibrated for a particular gas mixture, or if it has a routine that dynamically takes into account varying gas mixtures when measuring flow.

Gas meters can be used for a very large number of potential gas mixtures, and their composition can vary over time. In practice, it is not feasible to perform individual precalibrations for all the possible natural gas mixtures, which is why Sensirion’s thermal-mass sensors for gas meters have a proprietary, dynamic natural gas and hydrogen recognition routine to ensure accurate flow measurements, even when gas compositions vary.

Test setup

The measurement data presented here was recorded using thermal-mass flow sensors with a dynamic gas recognition routine. The routine is optimized for H, L and E gases according to EN 437:2018 that contain up to 23% hydrogen, as well as for pure and near-pure hydrogen. The flow sensors’ output signal is temperature- and pressure-compensated in standard cubic meter per hour (m3/h).

The flow sensors were tested in a generic gas meter prototype housing, with the flow sensor positioned at the gas meter housing outlet (see Figure 2a)). An external gas supplier mixed the tested gas mixtures (see Table 1). Sonic nozzles were used as flow references and the measurements were conducted at room temperature. The measurement setup for the flow measurements is shown as a schematic diagram in Figure 2b).

Flow Measurements in Natural Gas/Hydrogen Mixtures

Figure 3 shows the relative measurement errors at the reference gas flow of up to 6 m³ /h (G4 meter) for five flow sensors in air, methane and natural gas mixtures containing 5%, 10% and 23% hydrogen. The error limits of ± 3.5% and ± 2.0% shown in black are the maximum permissible error limits according to the European Directive 2016/32/EC on measuring instruments (MID) and the recommendations made by the International Organization of Legal Metrology OIML R 137 regarding accuracy temperature-compensated gas meters of accuracy class 1.5.

All the error curves of each of the five measured flow sensors are well within the maximum permissible error limits and also comply with the permitted air-gas relationship of 3% and 1.5% respectively according to the European Standard for thermal-mass gas meters, EN 17526, as well as EN 14236 for ultrasonic domestic gas meters.

The test gas containing 23% hydrogen is the test gas G 222 as per EN 437. G 222 is described as the “limit test gas” –a gas mixture with the maximum hydrogen content used for testing gas appliances for second-family natural gas mixtures according to EN 437.

Flow Measurements in Hydrogen Gases

Since hydrogen has a lower calorific value (lower than that of natural gas by a factor of three), significantly higher hydrogen flow rates are required to maintain the same energy flow through the meter. Figure 4 shows the relative measurement errors at the reference gas flow of up to 20 m3/h for five flow sensors in 100% H2 and 98% H2 + 2% CO2. 2% of impurities is the maximum allowed for class A hydrogen as defined by ISO 14687. Again, the error limits for class 1.5 meters of ± 3.5% and ± 2.0% are indicated in black (for a meter with Qmax of 20 m³ /h).

One can see that the meters perform very well when working both with pure hydrogen and with hydrogen with 2% of CO2 contamination. It is important to mention that the size of the sensor (and consequently the meter too) can stay the same whether it operates with a 6 m³/h flow of natural gas or 20 m³/h of hydrogen.

Operational safety

Sensirion’s thermal-mass flow sensors do not have any safety-related limitations when operated with natural gas or hydrogen. Both the maximum temperature and the maximum thermal energy stored on the micro-sensor element are significantly below hydrogen/air mixtures’ ignition temperature or ignition energy, even if the flow sensor’s voltage regulator malfunctions. This is why Sensirion’s thermal-mass flow measurement technology has been successfully used for years in challenging gas analysis applications with pure hydrogen.

Consistently compact size for any hydrogen content

When substituting natural gas with hydrogen, it is important to bear in mind that hydrogen’s calorific value by volume is about three times lower than that of typical natural gas mixtures. In practice, this means that, if a gas appliance is operated with pure hydrogen instead of natural gas, a gas volume approximately three times greater must be supplied to achieve comparable heating power. In this case, gas meters originally designed for operation with natural gas need to be capable of measuring an increased gas volume due to the admixture of hydrogen. Consequently, it may be necessary to choose purely volumetric natural gas meters in a larger size and that also have an extended dynamic range (if they have to be compatible with both natural gas and pure hydrogen). Larger meter designs can be more costly and require more installation space. If larger gas volumes flow through a meter than it was originally designed for during operation with hydrogen-free natural gas, this can increase the wear on the meter mechanics, thus shortening the service life.

Similarly, ultrasonic gas maters face a challenge due to hydrogen having an increased speed of sound compared to that in natural gas (approximately by a factor of three). This means that the sound flow path has to be physically lengthened and the electronics used for the measurement have to become significantly faster. Consequently, one should expect such a meter to be larger, more complex and more expensive.

In contrast, thermal-mass flow measurement technology is a static measurement principle that has no moving parts and directly measures mass flow. Consequently, increased volume flow does cause additional wear and has no influence on a thermal-mass gas meter’s service life. Unlike with volumetric or ultrasonic gas meters, thermal-mass gas meters can remain the same size and just as simple whether they are operated with natural gas or with any optional hydrogen content. In the thermal-mass measurement principle, the key parameter that ought to be considered is not the gas volume flowing through the meter; rather, it is the relevant gas mixture’s Reynolds number. This is a fluid dynamics parameter that tells us whether turbulent (high Reynolds number) or laminar (low Reynolds number) flow conditions are formed in a system. Comparing the Reynolds numbers for pure methane ReCH4 (representing a natural gas mixture) and for pure hydrogen ReH2 shows that ReH2 is lower than ReCH4 by a factor of more than six for the same meter housing geometry. Assuming that hydrogen flow increases by a factor of three (to compensate for hydrogen’s lower calorific value, which is three times lower than natural gas), ReH2 is still about two times lower than ReCH4. Compared to methane, the lower Reynolds number for hydrogen means that measuring conditions remain stable at all times with the same meter housing geometry, even if the volume flow increases by a factor of three.

Similarly, the pressure drop across the meter will not increase with the higher hydrogen flow required. The pressure drop across the meter is proportional to gas density×velocity2. Since the density of hydrogen is a factor of 14 lower than that of methane, the pressure drop when flowing hydrogen at three times a higher rate than methane will be actually lower.

Consequently, the same meter size can be readily used for both natural gas and for operation with up to 100% hydrogen. A typical G4 thermal-mass meter can handle Qmax of 6 m3/h during operation with natural gas and over 20 m3/h when used with hydrogen. Moreover, no recalibration or setting change is needed to switch between different gases and the same sensor can seamlessly adjust itself to the gas supplied. 

Conclusion and outlook

The measurement data presented here demonstrates that the thermal-mass measurement principle complies with the error limits for measurement accuracy and the air-gas relationship as stipulated by the MID for various natural gas/hydrogen mixtures and pure hydrogen. There are no limitations as regards operational safety, even during operation with 100% hydrogen. The size of thermal-mass gas meters, which is already very compact, can be maintained regardless of a gas’ hydrogen content. This is a distinct advantage when compared to mechanical and ultrasonic meters. It eliminates the need for expensive, large meter designs and keeps the logistics and installation of thermal-mass gas meters simple and affordable.

In recent years, technological advancements in gas meters have mainly involved enabling them to communicate as smart meters. Hydrogen admixtures will drive further modernization in the gas meter industry, seeing a move away from old, mechanical and volumetric measurement principles toward modern technologies that can offer significant advantages for operation with hydrogen. Over 6 million gas customers worldwide are already benefiting from reliable and fair billing thanks to their thermal-mass gas meters. Going forward, hydrogen admixtures will promote the ever-faster uptake of this compact, static metering technology.

About Sensirion – experts for environmental and flow sensors

Headquartered in Stäfa, Switzerland, Sensirion AG is a leading manufacturer of digital microsensors and systems. Its product range includes gas and liquid flow sensors, differential pressure sensors and environmental sensors designed to measure humidity and temperature, volatile organic compounds (VOCs), carbon dioxide (CO2) and particulate matter (PM2.5). An international network with sales offices in the USA, Europe, China, Taiwan, Japan and South Korea supplies international customers with standard and custom sensor system solutions that are suitable for a wide range of applications. Sensirion’s sensors are commonly used in the medical, industrial and automotive sectors, and in analytical instruments, consumer goods and HVAC products.

One of the hallmarks of Sensirion’s products is the use of its patented CMOSens® Technology, which allows smart systems integration of the sensor element, logic, calibration data and digital interface on a single chip. Sensirion’s credentials as a reliable supplier are evident from its loyal customer base, reputation for quality (ISO/TS 16949) and excellent customer pedigree.

Related sensors