微型液体流量传感器是如何革新皮下药物输送的?

新冠疫情的爆发强化了医疗保健领域的数字化和以患者为中心的解决方案。由于对自我治疗的需求不断增加,以及生物技术和精准医疗的兴起,智能药物追踪被赋予了新的意义。通过在可穿戴设备上安装微型液体流量传感器,皮下给药技术可达到一个新的水平。这将给患者、医生、护理人员、制药公司和医疗系统带来益处。

智能注射器、输液泵或数字药丸等数字药物输送正在彻底改变医疗和制药业,并迅速加快自我护理发展的步伐。由于人口结构的变化导致慢性病患者的增加,对更多的数字化家庭护理疗法的需求十分强烈。

数字化趋势一直在缓解医疗体系的压力,即使在新冠疫情爆发之前,该体系就已经饱受护理人员短缺的困扰。但自其发生以来,医疗保健领域已经加速了向自我管理的转变。

新冠疫情的爆发加速以患者为中心的发展

我们知道,疫情给世界各地的医院带来了挑战。由于床位不足、人员负担过重、担心感染等原因,原定的手术和治疗被推迟。患者对去诊所和医院看病变得谨慎起来,并尽可能地求助于远程医疗预约。

然而,必须重新考虑医疗体系,从而不仅仅是应对未来的疾病。减少慢性病患者的常规检查和治疗的就诊次数是转型的关键,就像提高医务人员的工作效率,有助于降低整体治疗成本一样。数字化助手可以通过改善护士、医生和管理人员之间的协作发挥重要作用,通过监测药物输送和治疗提供额外的安全性,并允许对治疗计划进行更多的数据化解释,对不断变化的患者情况作出更快的反应。

尽管如此,我们认为从新冠疫情中所获得的经验将继续加快和缓解现代医疗解决方案的发展障碍。新型便携或可穿戴设计使患者能够在家中安全地管理自己的病情,在远程监控的支持下,有更多个性化的灵活治疗方案。

从宏观经济的角度看,数字化与电子元器件价格的下降有关。这不仅证明了新设备定价的合理性,而且还使医疗设备制造商能够通过增加新价值来发明新设计。直接记录有关患者和医生持续治疗的反馈就是一个例子。比方说,医院治疗和诊断的电子健康记录(EHR)有朝一日也可能成为家庭护理的强制性内容。

另一个角度则是健康保险公司的增长趋势。制药公司和保险公司一直在努力证明治疗(如持续气道正压装置——CPAP呼吸机)和药物的使用或其有效性,以便获得全额付款或报销。例如,测量吸入流量剖面和剂量驱动得智能吸入器,已经能够证明药物是否是正确服用的。总的来说,这样的数字化数据正在促进医疗物联网(IoMT)的建立,让患者、护理人员和支付人受益。

作为驱动力的生物制药

无论是个性化还是参与式患者护理,精准医疗和生物技术的进步也对自我护理的发展趋势产生影响。与传统药物相比,使用高价值药物能够更有针对性地治疗疾病,且副作用更少。

与化学合成药物不同,生物制药是由微生物、哺乳动物细胞或植物提取物的复杂结构制成的。例如,它们包括刺激血细胞形成的蛋白质、胰岛素或抑制癌细胞生长的抗体。这些高价值药物还使得一些以前无法治疗的疾病有了治疗的机会,如自身免疫性疾病、心血管疾病、糖尿病或神经系统疾病。

不过,因为必须通过肠外给药,生物制药仍未被广泛接受。由于分子体积大,最普遍的模式是静脉输液。大容量给药需要临床支持,这意味着在原本已经很高的生产成本上又增加了治疗费用。

另一个缺点是,传统药物输送装置无法对高容量和粘稠的制剂进行精细处理。一些新药需要特定的剂量时间,包括起始时间或流速,还有一些则处于冻干状态,需要进行重组。为了克服这些与药物配给相关的挑战,需要设定新的药物输送机制。

连接大容量注射器

近几年来,大容量注射器(LVIs)——也被称为体内注射系统、贴片泵或可穿戴药物输送装置——已经用皮下注射取代了静脉注射。它们使用起来没那么痛苦,而且患者可以在家中自行治疗慢性疾病。尤其是,预充药装置组合为门诊治疗提供了方便和可靠的替代方案。

嵌入式智能注射器

  • 可以让患者在家里接受治疗
  • 可以实时远程监控治疗过程
  • 减少了患者、医疗保健提供商和保险公司的工作量和成本。

由于体积大、粘度高,生物制药的输送必须得到控制、确认和跟踪。自动给药系统的流速从每小时1.5到300毫升不等,确保在特定时间内从药瓶中连续给药。大容量注射器还可以让使用者在重组后不久就需要输送的冻干药物在使用点上进行灌装。

具有挑战性的设备设计

大容量非胰岛素药物注射器市场预计将在这十年快速增长。五十多种可穿戴产品和十多种高存储容量药物装置组合已商业化或正在开发中。无论是否出售含药物的设备,药物输送行业都面临着许多设计上的挑战,比如还需要改进粘性配方的处理,优化可用性,以及保持设备小巧和低成本。因此,大多数大容量注射器都是由一次性和可重复使用的部件制成的,从环境角度来说,这是合理的。尽管电池、电机、读数电子设备、连接组件和显示器可以重复使用,但针、药箱、贴片和湿传感器都是一次性的。

最近的事件表明,大容量注射器也可以为现有药物设计。虽然某种药物的专利已到期,例如安进公司的Neulasta在2015年到期了,但一种新的体内注射器的上市则可能会延长药物的寿命,并扩展安进公司的相关业务。因此,制药和医疗行业新的生命周期管理策略可以创造新的收入来源。

小型、性价比高的一次性传感器

由于不同的生物制药具有不同的性能,大容量注射器设计者必须单独保证可靠、精确的功能和高易用性。到目前为止,他们配备了视觉、听觉或触觉指示器的设备,用于针头定位和身体上的连接。即使像阻塞这样的故障也能在一定程度上被检测到,但目前只能以间接的方式检测,有一定误报的可能性。

更重要的是直接流量测量和输送量以及双向测量能力,是传统传感器无法做到的。Sensirion的传感器解决方案允许将小型的一次性液体流量传感器集成到大容量注射器中,以实时控制、确认和跟踪皮下药物输送。它们能够在流量和管理量方面实现精确的剂量,并以一种直接的低成本方式实现故障自动检测,如阻塞或空气进入管道。

这些新一代传感器集成到一个连接大容量注射器中,不仅能使患者通过智能手机应用程序监测给药情况,而且还能与参与患者护理的利益相关者(如家庭成员、父母或亲属)进行通信,如遥测。护理人员、医生、制药公司(用于研究)和医疗保险公司(用于证明)会收到关于给药和设备状态的更新以及指标。可编程功能还可以调整或优化皮下给药过程。如果注射设备出现问题,流量传感器可以让患者以及他们的亲属感到安心。简单地说:使用一个微型智能传感器可以改善治疗效果、患者的依从性以及生活质量。微型液体流量传感器解决了上述的市场趋势,并给予了非常高的价值成本比率。

小型的液体流量传感器使大容量注射器(LVI)

  • 可直接双向测量流量,实时确定注入液量
  • 监控系统性能,保证可靠的故障检测
  • 支持所有利益相关方监测和跟踪治疗的连接解决方案

传感器、泵及其他

最后,在设计大容量注射器(LVI)时,建议从整体的角度来看待液体流量传感器和泵的构造。为了确定流量控制系统在尺寸、性能、易集成性、可制造性和成本方面的理想设计,医疗设备制造商应力求实现最佳组合。
通常情况下,首先选择泵技术,而且往往是独立于流量传感器,特别是当涉及到设备制造商的独特要求和相关知识产权时。将先前选定的泵与液体流量传感器结合起来可能是一种挑战,特别是当泵的性能需要进一步改进、进行故障检测以及恢复能力时,这些都需要由传感器来提供。泵的具体工作原理、流量分布、机械设计和流体连接器可能会使这一任务复杂化。

在一项设计研究中,Sensirion对其丰富的流量传感经验进行了测试,将一个小尺寸的液体流量传感器与Quantex Arc的一次性微泵组装起来。最终形成的高度紧凑的流量控制器,在不同的流态下能提供稳定的流量,并且耗能很低。

Sensirion的技术当然也能与其他制造商的泵配合使用。这只是一个概念研究,还有进一步改进和规范的空间,同时也要考虑到不同设备的要求。我们正准备开始一段激动人心的旅程。

测试设计

使用的轻量级管线泵CS-3配有带倒钩的进口和出口连接器,便于安装到管道上,非常适合以高达100毫升/小时的流量进行精确微量灌注。Sensirion的液体流量传感器只需占用0.5 cm3的空间(12 x 6毫米),因其毫秒级的快速响应时间和直接性以及双向流量测量而脱颖而出。

Related sensors

How miniaturized liquid flow sensors are revolutionizing subcutaneous drug delivery

The COVID-19 pandemic has strengthened the push toward digitalization and patient-centric solutions in healthcare. The increasing demand for self-treatment, as well as the rise of biotechnology and precision medicine, give new meaning to smart drug tracking. By implementing miniaturized liquid flow sensors in wearable devices, subcutaneous drug delivery will reach the next level. This will result in a benefit for patients, doctors, nursing staff, pharmaceutical companies and the healthcare system.

Smart injectors, infusion pumps or digital pills – digital drug delivery is revolutionizing the medical and pharmaceutical industry and accelerating self-care at a rapid pace. As demographic change leads to an increase in patients with chronic diseases, the need for a larger number of digitalized home care therapies is strongly noticeable.

Digitalization trends have been relieving the healthcare system that was suffering from a nursing shortage even before the COVID-19 pandemic. But since its onset, the shift towards self-administration in healthcare has accelerated.

COVID-19 accelerating patient-centricity

As we learned, the pandemic has challenged hospitals all over the world. Scheduled surgeries and therapies have been put on hold due to a shortage of beds, over-burdened personnel and fear of infection. Patients became wary about visiting doctors’ offices and hospitals and resorted to telemedicine appointments where possible.

However, the healthcare system must be rethought, not only to deal with future diseases. Reducing hospital visits for routine checks and treatments of chronically ill patients is a key part of the transformation, just like improving efficiency of medical staff to help reduce overall treatment costs. Digital helpers can play an important role by improving collaboration between nurses, doctors and management, providing additional safety by monitoring drug delivery and treatment and allowing more data-driven interpretation of treatment plans and a faster response to changing patient conditions.

Nevertheless, it is assumed that the COVID-19 experience will continue to speed up and ease barriers to the development of modern healthcare solutions. New portable or wearable designs enable patients to manage their conditions safely at home, with more individualized, flexible treatment options supported by remote monitoring.

From a macroeconomic viewpoint, digitalization is associated with decreasing prices for electronic components. This not only justifies new equipment pricing, but also enables medical device manufacturers to invent new designs by adding new value to them. Directly documented feedback about ongoing treatment for patients and doctors is an example. For example, the electronic health record (EHR) of hospital treatments and diagnosis is also likely to become mandatory in home care someday.

Another factor is the increasing trends from health insurers. Pharmaceutical and insurance companies have been moving towards proof of use or effectiveness of therapy (e.g. for continuous positive airway pressure devices - CPAPs) and drugs, in order to receive full payment or reimbursement. Smart inhalers  that measure the inhaled flow profile and dose actuation, for example, are already able to prove that the drug was taken correctly. Overall, digital data like this is helping to build the Internet of Medical Things (IoMT) for the benefit of patients, caregivers and payers.

Biopharmaceuticals as a driving force

Whether for personalized or participatory patient care, precision medicine and advancements in biotechnology also have an impact on self-care trends. Compared to conventional medicines, the use of high-value drugs enables diseases to be treated in a more targeted way with fewer side-effects.

Unlike chemically synthesized drugs, biopharmaceuticals are made of complex structures from microorganisms, mammalian cells or plant extracts. For example, they include proteins that stimulate blood cell formation, insulin or antibodies that inhibit the growth of cancer cells. These high-value drugs also improve the opportunities to cure other previously untreatable diseases like autoimmune disorders, cardiovascular diseases, diabetes or neurological disorders.

However, because they must be administered parenterally, biopharmaceuticals are still not well accepted. Due to the large size of the molecules, the most prevalent mode is intravenous infusion. Large-volume administration requires clinical support, which means that therapy costs are added to already high production costs.

Another shortcoming is the elaborate handling of high-volume and viscous formulations that conventional drug delivery devices are not capable of. Some new drugs require specific dose timing concerning starting time or flow rate, while others are in a lyophilized state and require reconstitution. To overcome these administration-related challenges, new drug delivery mechanisms are required.

Connected large-volume injectors

For a few years already, large-volume injectors (LVIs) – also called on-body delivery systems, patch pumps or wearable drug-delivery devices – have been replacing intravenous infusion with subcutaneous injection. They are less painful to apply and enable chronic disorders to be treated at home by patients themselves. In particular, prefilled drug-device combinations provide a convenient and reliable alternative to outpatient treatment.

Wearable smart injectors

  • enable patients to receive therapeutics at home
  • enable therapy to be monitored in real time and remotely
  • reduce effort and cost for patients, healthcare providers and insurers.

Because of the high volumes and viscosities, biopharmaceutical delivery must be controlled, confirmed and tracked. Automatic drug-delivery systems with flow rates ranging from 1.5 to 300 milliliters per hour ensure continuous drug delivery out of a vial over a specific period of time. Large-volume injectors can also allow lyophilized drugs that need be delivered by the user shortly after reconstitution to be filled at the point of use.

Challenging device design

The market for large-volume injectors for non-insulin drugs is expected to grow at fast pace in this decade. Over 50 wearable products and more than 10 drug-device combinations with high storage capacities are either commercialized or in development. Whether selling devices including a medication or not, the drug-delivery industry is facing many design challenges: improving the handling of viscous formulations, optimizing usability as well as keeping devices small and costs low. Consequently, most large-volume injectors are made of disposable and reusable parts, which makes sense in environmental terms. Although the battery, motor, readout electronics, connectivity module and display are reusable, the needle, drug compartment, patch and wetted sensors are disposable.

As recent events have shown, large-volume injectors can also be designed for already existing drugs. Although a patent on a drug expires, for example Amgen’s Neulasta in 2015, the availability of a new on-body injector can lead to an extension of the drug’s lifetime and the related business for Amgen. Thus, new lifecycle management strategies in the pharmaceutical and medical industry can create new revenue streams.

Miniaturized, cost-effective and disposable sensors

Since there are various biopharmaceuticals with different properties, large-volume injector designers must individually guarantee reliable, precise function and high ease of use. Up to now, they equipped devices with visual, audio or tactile indicators for needle positioning and on-body attachment. Even failures like occlusions can be detected to some degree, but currently only in an indirect way, leaving the possibility of false positives.

Even more important is the direct flow measurement and delivered volumes as well as bidirectional measurement capability, which conventional sensors are not capable of. Sensirion’s sensor solutions allow miniaturized, disposable liquid flow sensors to be integrated into large-volume injectors to control, confirm and track subcutaneous drug delivery in real time. They enable precise dosing in terms of flow rate as well as administered volume and enable automatic failure detection such as occlusion or air-in-line in a cost-effective and direct manner.

Integrated into a connected large-volume injector, these next-generation sensors not only allow the administration to be monitored by the patient via a smartphone app, but additionally enable communication such as telemetry with stakeholders involved in the patient’s care, like family members, parents or relatives. Nursing staff, doctors, pharmaceutical companies (for research) and health insurers (for proof) receive updates as well as metrics about the administration and the device status. Programmable features could also adapt or optimize the subcutaneous drug delivery process. In case an injection device shows issues, a flow sensor can provide peace of mind to patients as well as their relatives. Put simply: implementing a tiny smart sensor improves therapy outcome, patient adherence and quality of life. Miniaturized liquid flow sensors address the above-mentioned market trends and provide a great value-to-cost ratio.

Miniaturized liquid flow sensors enable LVI to

  • measure the flow rate directly and bidirectionally to confirm the administered fluid volume in real time
  • monitor system performance and guarantee reliable failure detection
  • enable connected solutions for therapy monitoring and tracking by all stakeholders

Sensor, pump and beyond

Finally, in designing LVIs, it is recommended to view the liquid flow sensor and the pumping mechanism from a holistic point of view. To identify the ideal design of the flow control system in terms of size, performance, ease of integration, manufacturability and cost, medical device manufacturers should aim for the best possible combination.
Conventionally, pump technology is selected first and often independently of the flow sensor, especially when unique requirements and related intellectual property of the device manufacturer are involved. Combining a previously selected pump with a liquid flow sensor can be challenging, especially when the pump performance requires further improvement, failure detection and resilience, all to be provided by the sensor. The pump’s specific working principle, flow profile, mechanical design and fluidic connectors might further complicate the task.

Sensirion has put its extensive flow sensing experience to the test in a design study, assembling a small-footprint liquid flow sensor with a single-use micropump from Quantex Arc. The result was a highly compact flow controller providing a steady flow in different flow regimes and consuming very little energy.

Sensirion’s technology certainly works well with pumps from other manufacturers as well. Being merely a concept study, there is surely space for further improvements and customizations, also considering different device requirements. We are at the beginning of an exciting journey.

Test design

The used lightweight in-line pump CS-3 with barbed inlet and outlet connectors for easy fitting to tubing is ideal for precise microdosing at flow rates of up to 100 milliliters per hour. Taking up only 0.5 cm3 of space (12 x 6 mm), Sensirion’s liquid flow sensor stands out due to its millisecond-fast response times and direct as well as bidirectional flow rate measurement

Related sensors