热值(能量计量):混合气体时代的结算方式

作者: Konrad Domanski,Sensirion气体计量解决方案产品经理, Andreas Rueegg, Sensirion高级研发工程师

传统上,天然气消费者按其能源使用量计费,以千瓦时为单位。然而,用于能量计量的燃气表只能测量燃气的体积量。目前使用的绝大多数燃气表无法测量标准状况下的体积量(校正值由燃气公司在统计基础上决定)。计算能源消耗量,燃气公司需要清楚消费者接收到的燃气的标准状况(标况)下体积和热值 (CV):

能量 = 标况体积 * 热值

现下这一问题的解决方法是:在管道注入点安装气相色谱仪(GC)并对输送给消费者的气体的温度和压力做出一般性假设。同样也假设注入点以外,所有消费者都接收到相同质量的气体。通常来说,热值的范围为30 MJ/m3 (L气体)到45 MJ/m3(H气体和LNG)。现实中,这个范围通常更小,因为给定的区域只会输送一种气体。对于大多数H气体,热值范围为37至43 MJ/m3

分开测量体积和热值可以简化燃气表。这一直以来都是最具成本效益的解决方案。OIML R140规定了热值测量的三个准确度等级:A (0.5 %)、B (1 %) 和 C (2 %)。目前,在大多数国家和地区,只有A类或B类工具可用于计费

当前全球能源供应的趋势是用可再生能源替代化石燃料。就天然气而言,将是逐步用生物甲烷和氢气取代天然气,而后可能转向纯氢气。因此,许多国家现在陆续公布氢能战略计划并调整政策,为这一过渡做好准备。在英国,政府要求从2025年起在英国销售的所有锅炉都必须能够使用纯氢气。与此同时,世界各地正在启动多个试点项目,以测试管网是否能够适应可再生气体,尤其是特性与天然气差别很大的纯氢气。

与目前的天然气供应相比,可再生气体的生产将更加分散。生物甲烷可以由污水处理厂、垃圾填埋场或大型农场的生物质进行生产。氢气在可再生能源发电厂中可以作为生物质储能介质,或者由小型电力生产商通过电解水将多余的电能转化为氢气。将这些可再生气体引入管网中将大大增加注入点的数量,并导致分配给终端用户的气体出现不同的热值。

意大利计量表制造商协会(ACISM)2020年一项研究调查了意大利两个生物甲烷注入点附近的气体热值。因生物甲烷的二氧化碳含量较高,不含复杂的碳氢化合物气体,其热值通常低于天然气。研究发现,在注入点附近实际热值平均比用于计费的参考值低5%到6%。这一结果表明,即使在城市门站采用十分精确A级和B级(0.5 %或1 %)的方式测量热值,但对于远离门站靠近可再生气体注入点的用户,计费并不公平。随着注入点增加,尤其现在混合了氢气(氢气的热值仅为天然气的三分之一),问题变得越来越严重,影响面也越来越广。

其中一种解决方案是在所有新注入点安装气相色谱仪,并对管网中气体的热值进行建模。这一方法能否实行取决于不同地区新注入点的数量。然而,气相色谱仪的高昂的价格(约为25,000 欧元)以及额外的运营和维护成本,制约了该方案大范围推广。

另一种可能的方案是实时测量管网中气体的热值,并将其与现有智能计量表的数据(流量、温度、压力和可能的其他气体属性)相结合,来模拟终端客户的气体热值。这种方法仍有待检测,并且需要获得欧盟计量认证才能用于计费。

最理想的解决方案是越过注入点, 在距离用户最近的地方测量气体热值。最终,在燃气表端实现能量计量。

也可基于以上方案进行组合:例如,将来自气相色谱仪的实时热值与准确度等级次之但成本优异的燃气表上的热值读数相结合,以缩小潜在气体成分的范围并提高燃气表的准确性。对不同方案进行仔细的成本效益分析可以帮助决定采用哪种方案。

截至2021年,现场使用的热式燃气表已经超过六百万只,且呈现指数增长趋势。 热式技术的基本原理是,在气体流动时测量微小加热源周围的热量分布。热式燃气表输出标准状况下的气体体积流量,以及有助于燃气表和管网诊断的其他气体参数(气体特性,如热导率或扩散率等)。该技术已被证明可用于天然气、氢气混合物、纯氢气和生物甲烷的标况体积计量。

所测的热特性可以与气体的热值和混合物中的氢含量相关联。Sensirion 热式燃气表模块已经可以以 2%的准确度估算管网中气体的热值。图4显示了 a) 测量结果和 b) 对各种天然气成分(不添加氢气)的热值测量精度的模拟。虚线表示 OIML C类的精度限制。为了进行比较,图4还显示了 c)超声波传感器(加上理想的温度及压力补偿)对于热值的模拟。 超过1,000种实际气体混合物用于模拟,包括 H、L和E天然气、LNG 混合物和沼气。此处的沼气为 CH4、CO2 和 C3H8中两种或三种的混合物,其中CO2和C3H8合计占气体的30%。图 4a 中的测量是使用各种H和L气体(图例中的TGH或TGL)进行的。

可以说,一旦将大量氢气和生物甲烷注入管网,在燃气表端测量气体热值是最理想的。 Sensirion热式燃气表模块已经能够准确估算 LNG 混合气体的热值,其中包括含氢高达 30% 的混合气(1%,OIML R140 B 类;图 5)。但是,对于与氢气混合的其他气体,需要添加另一个传感器才能达到类似的性能。

通过结合现成的热式燃气表测量的热质特性,外加一个气体特性(基于三种气体特性的相关性),即可对多种混合天气热及高达30% 掺氢天然气实现热值估算。对于纯氢和近纯氢(95% 的氢与高达 5% 的 N2 或 CO2 杂质混合)也可以达到同样的效果。

附加的传感器可以是超声波传感器,以声速提供测量。这是最直观的解决方案,因为已经有技术基础。虽然此类组合可以满足 OIML R140 C 类的要求,但混合气体成分需要加以限制。这种限制在实际应用中是否可以接受还有待观察。

估算热值最理想的气体当量需要与热值高度相关,且彼此间的相关性弱,Sensirion 研究了不同的参数以补充气体热导率和扩散率。我们确定了两种可能的解决方案,与Sensirion 目前的燃气表模块一起,可用于打造精准的热值传感器,达到 B 级或 C 级精度。

测量原理可靠,可采用MEMS 工艺(图 6a),实现低成本。2% 的精度,确保高性价比的C 类热值表。

图 6 b 显示了 Sensirion热式传感器与光学传感器的组合。该解决方案能够以1% 的精度进行热值测量,因此也适用于B类热值表。这种解决方案虽然成本高于MEMS的解决方案。但精度更优。

MEMS和光学传感器可以集成到现有的 Sensirion 气体计量模块中打造能量表。在这种情况下,OIML R137 1.5 级流量测量可以与B类或C类热值测量相结合,打造出简单、高性价比且可扩展的解决方案,为未来管网中大量增加注入点做好准备。

结论

由于迄今为止管网中气体为同质气体,热值(注入点或门站处)与流量(客户端)的分开测量,仍可以取得较为满意的结果。随着可再生气体注入点数量的增加,当前做法的规模化成本较高。目前A级和B级精度适用于门站(远离终端)的热值计量,Sensirion的技术虽达不到A级标准,但可以以极低的成本测量客户端的热值。未来的一种解决方案可能是直接使用基于 Sensirion 气体计量技术的能量表,在热值测量中具有 OIML R140 B (1 %) 或 C (2 %) 级精度,在体积流量测量中具有 1.5 级精度。 一旦法规允许在热值测量中以 B 或 C 级精度直接进行能源计量,Sensirion 将提供一种与氢气和生物甲烷兼容的经济解决方案,以在燃气表上实现体积和热值同步测量。

Related sensors

Calorific value: fiscal measurement in the multi-gas era

Authors: Konrad Domanski, Product Manager Gas Metering Solutions, Sensirion and Andreas Rueegg, Senior R&D Engineer, Sensirion

Natural gas consumers have traditionally been billed for their energy usage measured in kWh. However, the gas meters used to measure this consumption are only capable of measuring the volume of gas passing through them. The vast majority of the meters in use today are not capable of measuring volume while taking into account the required corrections for variations in temperature and pressure (these are applied on a statistical basis by the utility companies). To arrive at energy consumption, gas distributors need to know the standard volume as well as the calorific value (CV) of gas that each consumer receives:

Energy = Standard volume * Calorific Value

Today, this problem is solved by installing gas chromatographs (GCs) at injection points in the grid and making general assumptions about the temperature and pressure of the gas delivered to consumers. Likewise, it is also assumed that all consumers beyond the injection points receive gas of identical quality. Traditionally, the CV would vary from 30 MJ/m3 for L gases to 45 MJ/m3 for H and LNG gases. In practice, this range is generally smaller, because only one type of gas is distributed in a given territory. For most H gases, the CV falls in the range of 37 to 43 MJ/m3

By separately measuring volume and CV, the gas meter can be simplified. This has historically been the most cost-effective solution. OIML R140 prescribes three accuracy classes for CV measurement: A (0.5 %), B (1 %) and C (2 %). Currently, only instruments of class A or B may be used for billing purposes in most countries.

The current trend in the global energy supply is to replace fossil fuels with renewable energy. In the context of natural gas, this transition is expected to take the form of gradually replacing natural gas with biomethane and hydrogen, before potentially switching to pure hydrogen. Consequently, many countries are now publishing their hydrogen strategies and adapting policies to prepare for this transition; hence the requirement for all boilers sold in the UK from 2025 to be hydrogen-ready. At the same time, multiple pilot projects are being launched around the world to test the readiness of networks for the arrival of renewable gases – especially hydrogen, whose properties significantly differ from those of natural gas.

The production of renewable gases is set to be much more decentralized than the current gas supply. Biomethane can be produced from biomass at wastewater treatment plants, landfills or large farms. Hydrogen can be produced at renewable power plants as an energy storage medium, from biomass or even by small electricity producers, who convert excess energy into hydrogen by means of water electrolysis. The introduction of these renewable gases into the grid is predicted to greatly multiply the number of injection points and lead to diverse CVs of the gas distributed to the end-users.

A 2020 study conducted by the Association of Italian Meter Manufacturers (ACISM) investigated the calorific value of gas close to two biomethane injection points in Italy. Due to its increased CO2 content and lack of complex hydrocarbon gases, biomethane typically has a lower CV than natural gas. The authors found that the CV measured in the vicinity of the injection points was on average 5 % to 6 % lower than the reference value used for billing customers at those locations. These results indicate that the current approach of very precise class A or B (0.5 % or 1 %) measurements at city gates, which are distant from the end-users, no longer results in fair billing of users located close to injection points of renewable gases. As the number of these points increases, and especially as hydrogen is blended in (the CV of hydrogen is only one third that of natural gas), the problem becomes ever more severe and impacts more users.

One solution to this problem is to introduce a GC at all new injection points and to model the CV of the gas distributed across the network. Depending on the number of new injection points in different territories, this approach may be sufficient. However, at the cost of approx. €25,000 per unit and additional operating and maintenance costs, the scalability of this approach is limited.

Another possible approach is to punctually measure the CV of gas in the grid and to combine it with data streamed from existing smart meters (flow, temperature, pressure and possibly other gas properties) to simulate the CV at each consumer. Such an approach is still awaiting a successful demonstration and would require MID certification to be allowed for customer billing.

The most comprehensive solution would be to measure CV significantly closer to the user and past any injection points. Ultimately, the meters themselves can be tasked to measure energy consumption directly. A combination of several approaches is also imaginable: for example, combining punctual CV measurements from GCs with readings from less accurate but significantly less expensive energy meters in order to narrow down the potential gas compositions for and refine the accuracy of the latter. A careful cost-benefit analysis of the different options will likely determine which solution will be adopted.

With over 6 million meters deployed by 2021, thermal-mass technology is on the rise for gas metering applications. The basic principle of thermal-mass flow measurement involves measuring heat distribution around a small heater while gas is flowing. Thermal-mass meters output the gas volume flow, corrected for temperature and pressure variations, and other gas parameters that are useful for diagnostics of the meters and the network (gas properties such as thermal conductivity or diffusivity, absolute pressure, etc.). The technology has been successfully demonstrated to work with natural gas, hydrogen blends, pure hydrogen and biomethane.

The measured thermal properties can be correlated to the CV of the gas and to the hydrogen content in the blend. Sensirion’s thermal gas meters can already estimate the CV of gases distributed in a network with 2 % accuracy. Figure 4 shows the results of a) measurements and b) a simulation of CV measurement accuracy across a wide spectrum of natural gas compositions (without added hydrogen). The dashed lines represent the accuracy limits of OIML class C. For comparison, Figure 4 also shows c) the simulation with an ultrasonic sensor including ideal temperature and pressure compensation. Over 1,000 real gas mixtures were used for the simulations. These included H, L and E natural gases, LNG mixtures and biogases. Biogases here are defined as a binary or ternary mixture of CH4, CO2 and C3H8, where the latter two components together constitute up to 30 % of the gas. The measurements in Figure 4 a were taken with various H and L gases (TGH or TGL in the legend).

Arguably, the ability to measure the CV of the gas at the meter level is most desirable once considerable amounts of hydrogen and biomethane are injected into the grid. Sensirion’s thermal mass gas meters are already able to accurately estimate the CV for LNG gas blends including up to 30 % hydrogen (1 %, OIML R140 class B; Figure 5). However, for gases of other families blended with hydrogen, the addition of another sensor is needed to meet similar performance.

By combining thermal characteristics measured with today’s off-the-shelf thermal-mass meters and an additional gas property (correlation based on three gas properties), a precise correlation can be achieved for a wide range of gases blended with up to 30 % hydrogen. The same can be achieved for pure and near-pure hydrogen (95 % hydrogen mixed with up to 5 % of N2 or CO2 impurities).

One such additional sensor can be ultrasonic, providing measurement at the speed of sound. It is the most intuitive solution, as the necessary technological building blocks are already available off-the-shelf. While it is possible to meet the requirements of OIML R140 class C with this combination, it requires that the compatible gas compositions be restricted. It remains to be seen whether such restriction is acceptable in practical applications. 

An ideal set of gas quantities used for correlating to CVs should be as closely related to the CV of various gases as possible while exhibiting the lowest possible correlation to each other. Sensirion investigated a set of different parameters for the task of complementing thermal conductivity and diffusivity. We identified two promising solutions which – together with Sensirion’s current gas meter modules – could be used to build accurate CV sensors that achieve class B or C accuracy. 

The measurement principle is especially promising, which could be implemented as an MEMS Sensor (Figure 6 a) – and thus at a very attractive cost. The achievable accuracy of 2 % would allow class C CV meters to be obtained at low cost.

Figure 6 b shows the combination of Sensirion’s thermal-mass sensor with an optical sensor. This solution would be capable of delivering CV measurement with 1 % accuracy – thus also suitable for class B CV meters. This solution could be more readily acceptable in terms of accuracy, albeit at a higher cost than the MEMS-based solution.

MEMS and optical sensors could be integrated into existing Sensirion gas metering modules to form an energy meter. In this case, OIML R137 class 1.5 flow measurement could be combined with class B or C CV measurement to achieve a simple, cost-effective and scalable solution ready for any number of grid injection points in the future.

Conclusions

Owing to the homogeneous quality of gas in networks to date, the separation of measuring CV (at injection points) and volume (at each consumer) has yielded satisfactory results in the past. With the multiplication of renewable gas injection points, the cost-benefit ratio of scaling the current approach is likely to become unfavorable. While class A and B accuracy are currently used for measuring CV away from the end-point, the technology exists to measure CV closer to the customer at a fraction of the cost. One future solution could be to use direct energy meters based on Sensirion gas metering technology with OIML R140 class B (1 %) or C (2 %) accuracy in CV measurement and class 1.5 accuracy in volume flow measurement. Once the regulations permit direct energy metering with class B or C accuracy in CV measurement, Sensirion will offer an economic solution that is compatible with hydrogen and biomethane to combine volume and CV measurement in one gas meter.

Related sensors